Today, writing is the largest part of my workflow, but I expect to go back to much more audio production as I roll out the novel I’ve been working on for the last 5 years. I’m ready for that.

Office kit

Power. My office has 3 battery backup units, and for the last year or so none of them has worked. I don’t need them. Optical. LG Electronics 6X Blu Ray Writer  M-Disc support put this over the top for me. I’m well aware of power issues. That’s why I had 3 BBUs in the first place. But with much of my storage in the cloud, and powerful battery powered computing off-line, I no longer see the point of BBUs. Surge protectors, yes. BBUs, no. USB-C cables. I carry several short - 6" or so - cables so I can plug in anything that needs plugging in.

The Take

Office is office. Mobile is mobile. I’ve stopped trying to meld the two and the flexibility and redundancy of the approach works well for me.  Messing with home infrastructure is, for some people, a rewarding hobby, and even a paying job. I’m not one of those people. For me, they’re tools. Checking drivers and troubleshooting network issues is irritating, not fun. That’s why I’m willing to pay top prices for essential gear, like the SM7B or the iPad Pro Magic Keyboard. For the future I’m expecting great things from Apple Silicon. For one, a 32 inch iMac that can handle multiple 4k video streams. But I’ll cross that bridge when - and if - we get there. Comments welcome, of course.